How Do I Know if Someone Blocked me on Instagram

We all know how popular Instagram is these days, but this doesn’t mean that it’s without its faults. There is one issue that seems to come up time and again for Instagram users, and that is being blocked by someone on Instagram. 

If you are someone who for some reason can’t see content that someone is posting anymore, then they might have blocked you from seeing their Instagram profile. 

There are many reasons why someone might have done this, whether it is because they don’t want to be friends with you anymore, or they are tightening their friend circle on Instagram. Whatever the reason, let’s take a look at how to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram. 

How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You On Instagram

There are a couple of ways that you can work out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. However, the trouble is that there are other methods out there that don’t actually work. 

This is why in this article we want to share with you the methods that do work, so that you don’t end up wasting your time. Let’s take a look at the right ways to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. 

1.      Look up their Username

One of the most straightforward ways to figure out if someone has blocked you is to look up their profile on Instagram. To do this, you will need to find the Instagram search bar, and then you can enter the username of the person in that search bar. 

If you can’t find their username, then this means that there is a high chance that they have blocked you. 

2.      Check Their Profile on Instagram Web

While it is helpful to search up someone’s username on Instagram, sometimes it isn’t enough to confirm is someone has blocked you or not. This is because that person might have decided to deactivate their profile, or they have decided to completely delete their Instagram profile. 

As a result, you will need to dig a little deeper to confirm whether someone has really blocked you or not. The best way to do this is to add their username to the URL of Instagram, and then open this URL in a browser when you aren’t logged into Instagram. 

You will need to make sure that you aren’t logged into Instagram in order to be able to do this. 

If their profile shows up, but it doesn’t appear when you are logged in, then this means that they have blocked you for some reason. Even if they have an account that is private, their profile is still going to come up, but it’s going to come up as ‘private’. 

If the person has decided to get rid of their Instagram profile, then you will see a message that says ‘sorry, this page is no longer available’. As a result of this method, you can have a pretty good idea of whether the person has blocked you on Instagram or not. You can also do this on a friend’s phone, where you aren’t logged into your Instagram profile. 

3.      Check for Their Profile on the Instagram App

Another way to check if someone has blocked you on Instagram or not is to access their Instagram profile through an old comment or an old direct message. From here, you can check how many posts they have. 

If you see a message come up that says ‘no posts yet’, then this means that the person has blocked you. If you haven’t been blocked, then you are going to be able to see their posts. 

4.      Look for their Profile Through a Friend

We mentioned this briefly earlier, but if you want to make sure that someone has blocked you or not on Instagram, you can make the most of a friend who might be a mutual friend. This is a surefire way to make sure that the person hasn’t just gotten rid of their account for some reason. 

What if Someone Has Restricted You?

The person you think has blocked you might not have blocked you, but they might have restricted you. When you are restricted from a certain person, then all of your comments are going to go through a review system. 

This means that the other person can choose whether they want to see your comments, delete them, or simply ignore them. If you can’t see the activity status of the person, then you might want to check it from a mutual friend’s account. If you can see their activity status from your friend’s account but not yours, then they might have restricted you. 

You can also check any comments that you have posted on their profile. You will be able to see the comments on your end, but you won’t be able to see the comments on their end. This is indicative of someone restricting you. 

Final Thoughts

Above are the methods for finding out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. As you can see, there are a number of methods that you can use, so that you can know for sure if someone has decided that they don’t want to be able to interact with you on Instagram anymore. 

You can also figure out if they have blocked you completely, or if they have simply restricted you, which means that they are limiting being able to see the content that you upload. Good luck figuring out if someone has blocked you on Instagram.