How to Lock Your Facebook Account (The Right Way!)

Facebook-lock

How do I lock my Facebook profile?

It is a question you might be asking if you’re concerned about privacy when using the social media site. You can continue to use Facebook with a little more privacy by locking your profile.

This would be a smart move, given that Facebook, like all social media platforms, is full of strangers.

You can discover how to lock your Facebook profile in this post if you want to keep using Facebook while maintaining an additional level of privacy.

Facebook is one of the most widely used social media sites, and you might be one of its users. Even though using this social media site is entertaining, you might be concerned about your privacy.

A Facebook profile lock can be the solution if you want to continue using the network while maintaining more privacy.

What Effects Can Locking a Facebook Profile Have?

When you want to spend time on this popular social media site, locking your Facebook page can be a smart choice if privacy is your top priority. 

Just so that you are aware, locking your Facebook profile is not the same as deactivating or deleting it. Even if you have heard of Facebook profile locks, you might not be very familiar with what they are. Knowing what this feature accomplishes on Facebook is crucial before you lock your profile.

Facebook gives users additional privacy on the platform by allowing them to lock their profiles. People who are not friends with you on Facebook will have fewer options when viewing your profile when it is locked.

For example, this feature will ensure that only your friends can see the pictures and posts on your profile and in your Facebook stories. Strangers can only view a limited amount of your “About Info.” 

Why Would You Want to Lock Your Facebook Profile?

Facebook is one of the most widely used social media sites. At the moment, Facebook has more than 2.9 billion active monthly users. This means that this site is used by billions of users, the majority of whom you don’t know.

Your privacy can be a real concern while using a social media site like Facebook.

Adding an extra layer of security to your profile can be something you might want to do if you don’t want people you don’t know to be able to see what you’re sharing regularly on the platform.

It might make you uncomfortable if Facebook users who are not your friends can see your content. 

So that you can have more privacy on Facebook, you might want to set some restrictions in place. Thanks to Facebook’s privacy settings, you can freeze your profile in this case or figure out how to hide your phone number on Facebook.

Step-by-step guide on locking your Facebook profile

Facebook can help you lock your profile, making it more difficult for strangers to see who you are.

It would be good to remember that with this option, users who are not your Facebook friends won’t be able to see a significant section of your profile on the platform.

This is important to remember if you use the site to interact with and meet new people.

However, if you’re wondering, “how can I lock my Facebook profile?” then the following steps will help you do this:

  • Step 1: For starters, you need to be logged into your Facebook account. Go to the site and log in. 
  • Step 2: Go to your profile page and select the icon that resembles three dots from the menu beneath your name.
  • Step 3: Select “Lock profile” from the menu. 
  • Step 4: Next, a pop-up will appear with instructions on how to lock your Facebook profile. 
  • Step 5: After selecting “Lock your profile,” click “OK.” Your Facebook profile will now be locked.

How to Lock a Facebook Profile on an Android or iPhone

If you’re interested in learning how to lock your Facebook profile on an iPhone or an Android device, follow the instructions below:

  • Step 1: Open the app for Facebook, locate your profile, and select the icon with the three dots.
  • Step 2: Select “Lock profile”.
  • Step 3: Start the process with the “Lock your profile” button.

How to Lock Your Facebook Profile Photo so No One Can See It

On Facebook, your profile image can be seen by others, but you might want to hide it. Below are the steps to take if you want to accomplish this:

  • Step 1: Open the app for Facebook or website and find your profile image.
  • Step 2: Next, click on the image’s three dots icon.
  • Step 3: Select “Edit Audience” from the menu.
  • Step 4: To finish, select your privacy level.

Even if you lock your Facebook profile, you can still receive engagement. 

Doing this can be a good move if you want more privacy on the site. You can still use Facebook to stay in touch with your friends without being concerned about random people looking at your page.

You might start to see a decrease in the engagement on your Facebook posts once you lock your profile because nobody else will be able to see them.

However, it’s easy to buy Facebook likes if you want to receive just as much engagement. Contact use here at UseViral to find out more. 

Conclusion

If you are worried about what strangers can see on Facebook, you no longer have to be, because now you know how to lock your Facebook profile, so that only people that you want to view your profile can see it. 

You can lock your Facebook profile by following the steps above, which is going to give you complete peace of mind when it comes to using Facebook in general.